May Celebration Recap & 2023 League Awards

On Wednesday, May 3, 2023, the Junior League of Oakland-East Bay (JLOEB) held its annual May celebration at the Sequoyah Country Club to mark the end of the league year. The dinner was a huge success and a perfect way to honor outstanding service and commitment throughout the year.

JLOEB came together to enjoy swanky country club vibes, champagne toasts, a candy bar, dessert table, and delicious food. Members came dressed and ready to have a good time and wind down from the 2022-2023 league year.

As part of the celebration the league announced the recipients of our 2023 Community Enrichment Fund grant and presented awards to our league members.

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees!



New Member of the Year Award
The New Member Award recognizes a member in their provisional year who has demonstrated leadership, volunteerism, and has been a light within the new member class. This new member has been consistent since the beginning of the year and has proven they live the values and mission of the Junior League. This year the honor was shared by two members!

  • Thelma Andree, Marketing Communications Committee Member
  • Molly Kreuzer, Fund Development Committee Member




Rising Star Award
The Rising Star Award recognizes 1st and 2nd year Actives who have demonstrated significant leadership consistent with the Vision of JLOEB. The chosen recipients may have created new initiatives or best practices within the Junior League of Oakland-East Bay.

  • Alena LeBlanc, Marketing Communications Committee Member
  • *Special Honorable Mention to Marisa Melo, Training and Education Committee Member




Heart of the League 
The Heart of the League Award recognizes women in the league who may not be in a leadership role, but serve as emotional rocks within their committee. You will recognize a contender for the Heart of the League because they go above and beyond. Have had a ‘can do’ positive attitude, and an overarching passion for the league.

  • Morgan Davis, Vice President of Membership




Wonder Woman (President’s Award)
A special award from the JLOEB President to a member who has gone above and beyond to support them and the league as a whole. 

  • Trish Sagare, Vice President of Marketing and Communications




We closed our evening by congratulating our outgoing leadership and welcoming the new! We passed the gavel from current league president Ericka Nicholes to incoming President Leslie Fisher. Leslie and the new leadership team will take the reins on June 1st.

Congratulations to everyone! Truly, a heartwarming celebration.